Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home / Salary / Minimum Wages / Minimum Wage Vermont
 

Check your salary: compare your earnings against what other people get for the same job in the same state with our free Salary Calculator. In return, to keep our Calculator updated, share your Pay and Job Info and fill out our anonymous Salary Survey.

Click Here To Start the Salary Survey!
MINIMUM WAGE TIPPED WORKERS

Minimum wage rate per hour: $8.73

Cash wage: $4.23
Maximum tip credit: $4.50

Starting Jan. 2015 the law requires that tipped workers must be paid a wage equal to half the minimum wage:

Jan. 2015: $4.575

Jan. 2016: $4.80

Jan. 2017: $5.00

Jan. 2018: $5.25 

NOTE: A service or tipped employee means an employee of hotel, motel, tourist place, or restaurant, who customarily and regularly receives more than $120.00 a month in tips.

Note:The cash wage or basic wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards your hourly minimum wage. The "maximum tip credit" is the amount of tips you will need on top of your cash wage to make the minimum wage of $8.73 per hour. If you do not receive sufficient tips in your workweek to achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, your employer must make up the difference.

Exempt from Minimum Wage

You are exempt from Vermont's minimum wage if you are:

employed by the United States;
employed in a domestic service in or about a home;
an outside salesman;
employed in a bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity;
employed in the activities of a publicly supported non-profit organization (except laundry employees and nurses aides or practical nurses)
a taxi cab driver;
an agriculture worker;
a newspaper or advertisement home delivery person;
a full time high school student.

      A lot of workers are covered for their minimum wage by the Fair Labor Standards Act - find out more about the coverage and exemption of the FLSA.

      MINIMUM WAGE RATE Vermont: $8.73

      $9.15 Jan. 1, 2015
      $9.60 Jan. 1,2016
      $10.00 Jan. 1, 2017
      $10.50 Jan. 1, 2018

      Note: Vermont's minimum wage is adjusted annually based on changes in inflation as measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI).

      Full Time Minimum Wage: $349.20 per week

      Or approximately $69.84 daily, 349.20 weekly and $18,158.40 annual

      2015

      Day: $73.20

      Week: $366.00

      Year: $19,032.00

      2016

      Day: $76.80

      Week: $384.00

      Year: $19,968.00

      2017

      Day: $80.00

      Week:$400.00

      Year: $20,800.00

      2018

      Day: $84.00

      Week: $420.00

      Year: $21,840.00

      Based on a 8 hour day and 260 days work per year before taxes.

      Where Federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies.

      Deductions Employer

      Your employer is entitled to deduct from your wages an allowance for meals and lodging actually furnished and accepted as follows:

      2014 in $ 2013 in $
      Breakfast 2.94 p.d. 2.90 p.d.
      Lunch 3.30 p.d. 3.25 p.d.
      Dinner 3.67 p.d. 3.62 p.d.
      Full Board

      9.91 p.d.

      or 69.37 p.w.

      9.77 p.d.

      or 68.43 p.w.

      Nightly Lodging 4.04 p.d. 3.98 p.d.
      Full Room 24.30 p.w. 23.94 p.w.
      Full Room and Board 83.93 p.w 82.69 p.w.

       Note: p.d. = per day,  p.w. = per week

      OVERTIME PAY VERMONT: $13.10

      Jan. 2015: $13.73

      Jan. 2016: $14.40

      Jan. 2017: $15.00

      Jan. 2018: $15.75 

      Note: Overtime pay is the cash compensation for the hours eligible employees work in excess of 40 hours in a workweek (a workweek = 7x24= 168 hours). The overtime pay rate is one and one-half (1.5) times the regular working hour rate of pay. 

      Note: Under Vermont law exceptions to overtime pay requirements include employment in retail, service, hotels recreation, hospitals or nursing homes. Employment that is not subject to Vermont overtime requirements may be subject to federal overtime, if the work is in interstate commerce (e.g. credit card transactions); or in a business with an annual gross volume of sales of $500,000 or more.


      Note: Benefit hours are separate from overtime and should be shown as separate in your payroll records. For example, if you worked 36 hours in a workweek and had 8 hours off, paid for a holiday, you are NOT entitled to overtime.

      Tipped Workers: Your overtime pay can never be less than your minimum wage!

      Violations Minimum Wage

      If you want to file a complaint you can contact the Office of the Commissioner of Labor, Wage and Hour Program at 802-828-0276.
      Or email:labor-wagehour@state.vt.us
      Contact Address:
      Vermont Department of Labor
      5 Green Mountain Drive
      P.O. Box 488
      Montpelier
      Vermont 05601-0488

      Share |