Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home / Salary / Minimum Wages / Minimum Wage Tipped Workers
 
Minimum Wage Tipped Workers

You will find below the federal minimum wage rate for tipped workers and the rates per state. Click on the next link for federal regulation for tipped workers, eg retention of tips, tip pooling, dual jobs, service charges, credit card tips. Click on the names of the states below if you want to know more about the minimum wage regulations of a state.

2014 Minimum Wage Tipped Workers per State
Jurisdiction
Basic combined Cash & Tip Minimum Wage 
per hour
Maximum Tip Credit 
against Minimum Wage 
per hour
Minimum Cash Wage
per hour
Definition of Tipped Employee by monthly Tips - Notes
Federal $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $30
Federal new (sub)contractors Jan. 1 2015: $10.10 Jan.1 2015: $5.20 Jan. 1 2015: $4.90

Read more at Minimum wage federal contractors

Alabama No state minimum wage laws
Alaska State law doesn't allow tip credit $7.75
Arizona $7.90 $3.00  $4.90 Not specified
Arkansas $6.25 $3.63 $2.62 Not specified
California $9.00 State law doesn't allow tip credit

1/1/16: $10.00 

SAN FRANCISCO rate: $10.74
San Jose rate: $10.15

San Diego: 1/1 2015: $9.75, 1/1 2016: $10.50, 1/1 2017: $11.50
Long Beach rate for hotel workers with more than 100 rooms: $13.00 and 5 sick days 

LA International Airport hotels rate: $10.64

Jackson Rancheria: $10.60

Colorado

 $8.00

 

$3.02

$4.98

 


More than $30
Connecticut:

$8.70

2015: $9.15| 2016: $9.60| 2017: $10.10

New London: $10.10 for municipal workers and contractors. 

$3.01; 

2015: $3.37 2016: $3.53 2017: $3.72

$5.69

2015: $5.78 2016: $6.07 2017: $6.38

At least $10 weekly for full-time employees or $2.00 daily for part-time in hotels and restaurants. Not specified for other industries.
Bartenders

$1.36

2015: $1.69

2016: $1.78 2017: $1.87

 $7.34

2015: $7.46 2016: $7.82 2017: $8.23

Delaware

$7.75

June 1 2015: $8.25

New Castle County employees: $10.10


$5.52

$2.23

Raise of cash wage in 2014 not mentioned

More than $30
District of Columbia $8.25 $5.48 $2.77 Not specified
Florida $7.93 $3.02   $4.91
Georgia $5.15 $3.00 $ 2.13 Only applicable to employers of 6 or more employees. Fewer than 6, then there is no minimum wage.
Guam State law doesn't allow tip credit
Hawaii

$7.25

$7.75 in 2015; $8.50 in 2016; $9.25 in 2017; and $10.10 in 2018.

$0.25

$0.75 in 2016, to deduct only from employees who earns $7 more than the minimum wage through tips and wages.

$7.00

$7.50 in 2015; $7.75 in 2016; $8.50 in 2017; and $9.35 in 2018.

More than $20
Idaho* $7.25 $3.90 $3.35 More than $30
Illinois* $8.25 $3.30 $4.95

$20

Under the age of 18, or for the first 90 days of employment 50 cent less. 

Indiana* $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 Not specified
Iowa* $7.25 $2.90 $4.35 More than $30
Kansas* $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $20
Kentucky* $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $30
Maine* $7.50 50% $50% More than $30
Maryland*

$7.25

Jan. 1 2015: $8.00; July 2015: $8.75; July 2016: $9.25; July 2018: $10.10

$3.62

Jan. 1, 2015: $4.37; July 2015: $5.12; July 2016: $5.62; July 2018: $6.47

$3.63

After Jan. 1, 2015: Rate stays 3.63 

More than $30
Massachusetts*

$8.00

Jan.1 2015: $9.00, Jan. 12016: $10.00, Jan.1 2017: $11.00

$5.37

$2.63

will rise to $3,75 per hour by 2017.

More than $20
Michigan*

$7.40

2014, Sept. 1 $7.65 

2015: Sept. 1 $7.95

2016: Sept. 1 $8.20

2017, Sept.1: $8.50 

$4.75

2014 Sept.1,

$4.74

2015, Sept. 1, 

4.93

2016, Sept. 1,

$5.08

2017, Sept. 1,

5.27

$2.65

2014 Sept.1, 

$2.91

2015: Sept. 1,  $3.02

2016: Sept.1, $3.12

2017, Sept.1,

$3.23

Not specified

The minimum wage should be 38% of the minimum wage.

Minnesota:

$5.25 or $6.25

Increase minimum wage

for large companies with annual gross sales over $500,000

Aug. 2014: $8

Aug. 2015:$9

Aug. 2016: $9.50

for smaller companies with annual gross sales below $500,000 the rate will top out at $7.75 in 2016.

State law doesn't allow tip credit
large employer $6.15 Enterprise with annual receipts of $625,000 or more.
small employer $5.25 Enterprise with annual receipt less than $625,000.
Mississippi No state minimum wage laws, federal applies
Missouri*

$7.50

 $3.825

$3.675

Not specified. Employers engaged in retail or service business whose annual gross income is less than $500,000 are not required to pay the state minimum wage rate.
Montana

 $7.90

State law doesn't allow tip credit
Business with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less, not covered by FLSA $4.00
Nebraska* $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 Not specified
Nevada: $8.25
Without qualified 
health plan
$8.25
With qualified health plan $7.25
New Hampshire* $7.25 $3.98 3.27 More than $30
New Jersey*  $8.25  $6.12 $2.13 Not specified
New Mexico

$7.50
Santa Fe: $10.51

March 2014:$ 10.66
Albuquerque: $8.60

Bernalillo County:

$8.50

$5.37
Santa Fe:

$8.38

March 2014: 

$8.53
Albuquerque: 

$3.44

Bernalillo County:

$6.37

$2.13 
Santa Fe

$2.13

Albuquerque:

$5.16

Bernalillo County:

$2.13

More than $30 

Albuquerque:

The minimum wage will be $7.60 if an employer provides healthcare and/or childcare benefits to the employee during any pay period and the employer pays an amount for these benefits equal to or in excess of an annualized cost of $2,500.


New York*: $8.00 Not specified

Building service  See at Minimum Wage New York
Service workers hospitality industry $2.35 $5.65
Service workers and chambermaids in resort hotels, only if tips average at least $4.50 $3.10 $4.90
Food service workers hospitality industry $3.00 $5.00
North Carolina* $7.25 $5.12
Tip credit
not permitted unless the employer obtains from each employee, monthly or for each pay period, a signed certification of the amount of tips received.
$2.13 More than $20
North Dakota* $7.25 $2.39 $4.86 More than $30
Ohio*

 $7.95 (businesses grossing annual over $292,000)

$3.97

$3.98

Only for employers who gross more than 292,000 per year . Employers grossing less, and for under 16 year olds the federal minimum applies.

Oklahoma*: $7.25 $5.12

$2.13 For employers with fewer than 10 full-time employees at any one location who have gross annual sales of $100,000 or less, the basic minimum rate is $2.00 per hour.
Oregon

$9.10

State law doesn't allow tip credit Rises with inflation.
Pennsylvania * $7.25 $4.42 $2.83

More than $30

Effective May 20th, 2014: Philadelphia's city contractors and subcontractors: $10.88 per hour, Jan. 1st 2015: $12.00 per hour.

Puerto Rico 7.25 For employers covered by the FLSA. Employers not covered will be subject to minimum wage that is at least 70% of the federal minimum or the applicable mandatory rate, whichever is higher.  Puerto Rico has rates that vary according to the industry between $5.08 to $.7.25
Rhode Island*

$8.00

Jan. 1st 2015: $9.00 per hour.

$2.89

 $5.11

Not specified
South Carolina No state minimum wage laws, federal applies
South Dakota* $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $35
Tennessee No state minimum wage laws, federal applies
Texas* $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $20
Utah* $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $30
Vermont*

$8.73

$9.15 Jan. 1, 2015
$9.60 Jan. 1,2016
$10.00 Jan. 1, 2017
$10.50 Jan. 1, 2018

$4.50

Jan. 2015: $4.575

Jan. 2016: $4.80

Jan. 2017: $5.00

Jan. 2018: $5.25

 $4.23

Jan. 2015: $4.575

Jan. 2016: $4.80

Jan. 2017: $5.00

Jan. 2018: $5.25

More than $120


Virginia* $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 Not specified
Virgin Islands $7.25/$6.90 $5.12 $2.13 Adopts federal rate, except for businesses with gross annual receipts of less than $150,000, then rate is $6.90
Washington

$9.32

 

State law doesn't allow tip credit

Rises with inflation.

Seatec: $15.00

Seattle: to $17.00 in 2017 for employers with more than 500 workers who do not provide healthcare, in 2018 for those large employers who do and phased in through 20121 for smaller employers.

West Virginia*

$7.25

Jan. 1, 2015: $8.00

Jan. 1, 2016: $8.75

$1.45

Jan. 1, 2015: $1.60

Jan. 1, 2016: $1.75

$5.80

Jan. 1, 2015: $6.40

Jan. 1, 2016: $7.00

Not specified
For employers with six or more employees and for state agencies.
Wisconsin* $7.25 $4.92 $2.33 Not specified
$2.13 may be paid to employees under 20 and who have been in employment status with a particular employer for 90 or fewer consecutive calendar days from the date of initial employment.
Wyoming* $5.15 $3.02 $2.13 More than $30
* Tip Credit permitted if the combined amount of tip and wage is at least 50 cents more than the applicable minimum wage.
Do You Get a Fair Pay?

Check your salary: compare your earnings against what other people get for the same job in the same state with our free, independent Salary Calculator. In return, to keep our Calculator updated, share your Pay and Job Info and fill out our anonymous Salary Survey.

 

 

 

 

Share |