Minimum Wage California

Find out all about the minimum wage of California state, cities and counties at Paywizard.org.

Local Minimum Wages California

Minimum Wage Rates California

Employers with 26 or more employees

Employers with fewer than 26 employees

Current $10.00 $10.00
January 1, 2017 $10.50
$10.00
January 1, 2018 $11.00 $10.50
January 1, 2019 $12.00 $11.00
January 1, 2020 $13.00 $12.00
January 1, 2021 $14.00 $13.00
January 1, 2022 $15.00 $14.00
January 1, 2023 A rate annually adjusted for inflation (with a maximum annual increase of 3.5 percent). $15.00
January 1, 2024   A rate annually adjusted for inflation (with a maximum annual increase of 3.5 percent).

Off-Ramp Provisions

The legislation contains “off-ramp” provisions that allow the governor to pause scheduled increases (excluding the initial $10.50 increase). The governor can halt a scheduled increase if:

  • job growth during a specified three- or six-month period preceding the scheduled increase is negative and retail sales tax receipts for a specified 12-month period preceding the scheduled increase are negative. 
  • If the state in the then-current budget year or either of two subsequent years is forecasted to be in deficit when including the next scheduled increase.

The governor can use the “off ramp” authority only twice. Once the minimum wage reaches $15.00, the governor cannot stop inflation-based increases.

Minimum Wage Rates per Day, Week, Year

Based on 40 working hours a week, 52 weeks a year.

For employers with 26 or more employees. For employers with 25 or fewer employees, the increases will begin January 1, 2018.

Day Week

Year

January 1, 2017 $84.00 $420.00 $21,840.00
January 1, 2018 $88.00 $440.00 $22,880.00
January 1, 2019
$96.00 $480.00 $24,960.00
January 1, 2020 $104.00 $520.00 $27,040.00
January 1, 2021 $112.00 $560.00 $29,120.00
January 1, 2022 $120.00 $600.00

$31,200.00

California Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions

A lot of California's workers  are protected (or "covered") by the Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA ) for their minimum wage, but there are exemptions. Read more about:

Exempt Employees and the Minimum Wage

Exempt employees in California generally earn a minimum salary of no less than twice the state minimum wage for full-time work. The increase in the state minimum wage will also cause an increase in the minimum salary requirement for exempt employees. Without adjusting salaries workers might become minimum wage employees instead of exempt employees. 

Meals and Lodging California

Meals or lodging may not be credited against the minimum wage without a voluntary written agreement between the employer and the employee. When credit for meals or lodging is used to meet part of the employer’s minimum wage obligation, the amounts so credited may not be more than the following:

Effective January 1, 2017

Meals and Lodging 25 or less employees 26 or more employees
Breakfast $3.62 $3.80
Lunch  $4.97 $5.22
Dinner $6.68 $7.09
Room Occupied Alone $47.03/week $49.38/week
Room shared $38.82/week $40.76/week

Apartment – two thirds (2/3) of the ordinary rental value, and in no event more than:

$564.81/month $593.05/month
Where a couple are both employed by the employer, two thirds (2/3) of the ordinary rental value, and in no event more than $835.49/month $877.27/month

Minimum Wage California Trainees and Internship

California Interns or trainees in the for-profit private sector who are qualifying more as employees than as trainees must be paid at least the minimum wage and overtime compensation for more then 40 hours worked in a workweek.

Read more via the next link about Minimum Wage Internships.

Violations Minimum Wage

If you didn't receive the minimum wage you may file a claim on a form provided by the Californian Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (the Labor Commissioner's Office), or file a lawsuit in court against your employer to recover the lost wages. 

Find here: California wage claim form

Additionally, if you no longer work for this employer, you can make a claim for the waiting time penalty pursuant to Labor Code Section 203

Federal and State Minimum Wage

Where Federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies.

Overtime Pay California

The current overtime pay in California  is $15.00 per hour. 
Overtime pay is the cash compensation for the hours eligible employees work in excess of 40 hours in a workweek (a workweek = 7x24= 168 hours). The overtime pay rate is one and one-half (1.5) times the regular working hour rate of pay.

Local Minimum Wages California 

Berkeley City Minimum Wage: $12.53

Oct. 1, 2016: 12.53
Oct. 1, 2017: 13.75
Oct. 1, 2018: 15.00

From July 1, 2019 Berkely will peg its annual increases to match inflation rates.

Campbell City Minimum Wage

Jan.1, 2017:
25 or less employees $10.00
26 or more employees $10.50

Cupertino City Minimum Wage

Jan. 1, 2017: $12.00
Jan.1, 2018: $13.50
Jan.1, 2019: $15.00

Adjustment of the minimum wage will be announced by October and shall become effective as the new minimum wage on Jan. 1 of each year.

El Cerrito City Minimum Wage 

Jan. 1, 2017: $12.25
Jan. 1, 2018: $13.60
Jan. 1, 2019: $15.00

Starting on July 1, 2016, all employers will be required to pay their employees at least $11.60 per hour for the hours worked within the geographic limits of City of El Cerrito, regardless of the size of the employer or where the employer's business is based.

The minimum wage requirements apply to any employee (part-time or full-time) who performs work within the City of El Cerrito, except employees who work less than 2 hours per week within El Cerrito.

Tips may not be counted toward payment of the minimum wage.


Beginning January 1, 2020 and each year thereafter the wage will increase based on the local consumer price index (CPI).

Emeryville City Minimum Wage

The minimum wage will increase annually with Large Business minimum wage rates adjusting annually for inflation every July 1 based on the annual increase in the local consumer price index (CPI). Small Business minimum wage rates will increase until 2019, at which point the Small Business minimum wage rate will match the Large Business minimum wage rate and both will be increased every July 1 by the local CPI, see in the table below:

Effective date Minimum Wage businesses with 55 or fewer employees Minimum Wage businesses with 65 or more employees
July 2, 2015 $12.25 $14.44
July 1, 2016 $13.00 $14.82 (CPI)
July 1, 2017 $14.00 $15.20 (CPI)
July 1, 2018 $15.00 $15.60 (CPI)
July 1, 2019 $16.00 (CPI) $16.00 (CPI)
July 1, 2020 $16.42 (CPI) $16.42 (CPI)

Gilroy City Minimum Wage

Jan.1, 2017:
25 or less employees $10.00
26 or more employees $10.50

Jackson Rancheria Band of Miwok Indians Casino and Resort Minimum Wage: $10.60  

The Jackson Rancheria Band of Miwok Indians announced October 2013 that the minimum wage it pays its casino and resort employees starting in 2014 will be $10.60 per hour.

Long Beach Minimum Wage

MIrrors the state minimum wage. Local wages will still increase to $15 an hour, but it will take a year longer to get there. The city and state wage timetable now calls for an increase to $10.50 an hour on Jan. 1, 2017 (up 50 cents from the current $10 an hour) and an increase by $1 every year until 2022 when the hourly rate reaches $15.

Los Altos City and Town Minimum Wage

Jan. 1, 2017: $12.00
Jan.1, 2018: $13.50
Jan.1, 2019: $15.00

Adjustment of the minimum wage will be announced by October and shall become effective as the new minimum wage on Jan. 1 of each year.

Los Angeles City and County Minimum Wage

Effective date: Minimum Wage businesses with 26 or more employees Minimum Wage businesses with 25 or fewer employees
July 1, 2016 $10,50
July 1, 2017 $12.00 $10.50
July 1, 2018 $13.25 $12.00
July 1, 2019 $14.25 $13.25
July 1, 2020 $15.00 $14.25
July 1, 2021 Increase pegged to the Consumer Price Index $15.00

The Los Angeles minimum wage applies to all employees, an employer must pay an employee who performs at least two hours for all hours worked in the City of Los Angeles, regardless whether the work is done as full time, part time or temporary employee. 

Find here the city boundaries: http://zimas.lacity.org/

Non-profits are covered by the Los Angeles Minimum Wage Ordinance.

Los Angeles Airport employees Minimum Wage

$11.68 cash wage and $5.05 health benefits per hour

July 2017
$12.08 cash wage and $5.18 health benefits

Los Gatos Town Minimum Wage

Jan.1, 2017:

25 or less employees $10.00
26 or more employees $10.50

Milpitas City Minimum Wage

Jan.1, 2017:
25 or less employees $10.00
26 or more employees $10.50

Adjustment of the minimum wage will be announced by October and shall become effective as the new minimum wage on Jan. 1 of each year.

Monte Sereno City Minimum Wage

Jan.1, 2017:
25 or less employees $10.00
26 or more employees $10.50

Morgan Hill City Minimum Wage

Jan. 1, 2016: $10.00

Jan.1, 2017:
25 or less employees $10.00
26 or more employees $10.50

Adjustment of the minimum wage will be announced by October and shall become effective as the new minimum wage on Jan. 1 of each year.

Mountain View City Minimum Wage

Jan.1: 2017: $13.00,
Jan.1, 2018: $15.00

Oakland City Minimum Wage

Jan. 1, 2017: $12.86 per hour

The minimum wage increases based on cost of living increases.

Palo Alto City Minimum Wage

Jan. 1, 2017: $12.00
Jan.1, 2018: $13.50
Jan.1, 2019: $15.00

Adjustment of the minimum wage will be announced by October and shall become effective as the new minimum wage on Jan. 1 of each year.

Pasadena City Minimum Wage

For businesses with 26 or more employees in Pasadena, the following schedule applies. 

  • Starting July 1, 2017, increases the minimum wage to $10.50 per hour.  
  • Starting July 1, 2017, increases the minimum wage to $12 per hour.  
  • Starting July 1, 2018, increases the minimum wage to $13.25 per hour.  

For companies with 25 or fewer employees, the same schedule is delayed by one year.  

 After further City Council Action:  

  • Starting July 1, 2019, increases the minimum wage to $14.25 per hour.  
  • Starting July 1, 2020, increases the minimum wage to $15 per hour. 

Richmond City Minimum Wage

Jan.1 2017: $12.30.
Jan. 1, 2018: $13.00

After that increase annually, based on the Consumer Price Index.

Sacramento City Minimum Wage

Sacramento’s minimum wage will reach $12.50 per hour by 2020 and allows a six-month “small business delay” for employers with fewer than 40 employees. The rate increases in the following stages.

101 or more employees:

  • January 1, 2017: $10.50
  • January 1, 2018: $11.00
  • January 1, 2019: $11.75
  • January 1, 2020: $12.50
  • January 1, 2021: Indexed to CPI

100 or fewer employees:

  • July 1, 2017: $10.50
  • July 1, 2018: $11.00
  • July 1, 2019: $11.75
  • July 1, 2020: $12.50
  • July 1, 2021: Indexed to CPI

San Diego Minimum Wage

Jan. 1, 2017: $11.50 per hour

Thereafter, beginning in 2019, the minimum wage increases on an annual basis as determined by a consumer price index. The ordinance applies to all private sector employers that are required to pay the minimum wage only to employees who work two or more hours per calendar week within city limits.

San Francisco Minimum Wage 

July 1, 2016: $13.00
July 1, 2017: $14.00
July 1, 2018: $15.00  

Thereafter, beginning in 2019, the minimum wage increases on an annual basis as determined by cost of living increases.

The ordinance applies to adult and minor employees who work two (2) or more hours per week.

Exempt are under 18 year olds in government subsidized training programs or over 55 year olds at some government-subsidized nonprofits.

Contractors San Francisco City and county for contracts entered into or amended on or after Oct. 14, 2007:

1/1/17 For-Profit rate: $13.64

7/1/16: non-profit rate: $13.00

The San Francisco minimum wage will increase to $14.00 on July 1, 2017. City contractors in San Francisco will need to comply with the minimum wage of July 1, 2017. This rate will apply to both for-profit and non-profit City contractors.

Contractors San Francisco City and county for contracts entered into prior to Oct. 14, 2007:

7/1/16 for work performed within the City of S.F.: $13.00

7/1/15 for work performed outside of S.F.: $10.77

San Jose Minimum Wage

Jan. 1, 2017: $10.50
July 1, 2017: $12.00
Jan.1, 2018: $13.50
Jan 1, 2019: $15.00

11/17/16: The San JoséCity Council approved on November 15 a two-year phased approach to increase to the minimum wage in order to reach $15 per hour by January 1, 2019. The milestone dates and wage rates are: $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2017; $12 per hour on July 1, 2017; $13.50 per hour on January 1, 2018; and $15 per hour on January 1, 2019. 

San Leandro Minimum Wage

$10.00

July 1, 2017: $12.00
July 1, 2018: $13.00
July 1, 2019: $14.00
July 1, 2020: $15.00

San Mateo Minimum Wage

The schedule for the increase in the minimum wage as adopted by the City Council is as follows:

Year Citywide

501(c)(3) tax exempt 

non profits

2016 $10.00 $10.00
Jan. 1, 2017 $12.00 $10.50
Jan. 1, 2018 $13.50 $12.00
Jan. 1, 2019 $15.00 $13.50
Jan. 1, 2020 $15.00 + CPI $15.00 + CPI
Jan. 1, 2021 CPI CPI

If you (adult, minor, full time, part time) work at least 2 hours in the City of San Mateo, for an employer who is subject to the City of Mateo Business License Tax, or who maintains a facility in the City of Mateo, you are entitled to the minimum wage, according to the above schedule.  

You are protected from retaliation and you may file a civil lawsuit against their employers for any violation of the Ordinance or may file a complaint with the City of San Mateo

Santa Clara  City Minimum Wage

Jan. 1, 2017: $11.10

The Ordinance requires employers to pay a minimum of $11.00 per hour to each employee who performs at least two (2) hours or more per week of work in Santa Clara.

Each year thereafter, the minimum wage will increase corresponding to the prior year’s Consumer Price Index (CPI).

Santa Monica Minimum Wage

Year Businesses with 26 or more employees Businesses with 25 or less employees  All Hotels
2016 $10.50 $10.00 $13.25
2017 $12.00 $10.50 $15.37
2018 $13.25 $12.00 Increases annually by  CPI
2019 $14.25 $13.25
2020 $15.00 $14.25
2021 $15.00 $15.00

Employees working for the first time in an activity in which they have no previous similar or related experience can earn 85% of the minimum wage for the first 160 hours of employment.

Saratoga City Minimum Wage

Jan.1, 2017:
25 or less employees $10.00
26 or more employees $10.50

Sunnyvale City Minimum Wage

$13.00 on January 1, 2017
$15.00 on January 1, 2018

Following years: adjustment of the minimum wage based on regional CPI increase

Updated: 1/3/2017
Cite this page © WageIndicator 2017 - Paywizard.org - Minimum Wage California