New Jersey Cities Paid Sick Leave
The enacted paid sick laws in New Jersey cities - East Orange, Irvington, Jersey City, Newark, Passaic, Paterson, Trenton and Montclair - are nearly identical.
How much sick time am I eligible for?
Jersey City - Employees in businesses with 10 or more employees can earn up one hour of paid sick leave for each 30 hours worked, with a maximum to five paid sick days a year.
Employees of smaller businesses will be able to earn up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time until a revision will become effective in 2016, which requires employers with fewer than 10 employees to provide up to 24 hours of paid sick leave time and 16 hours of unpaid sick time, allowing waiver of the law’s requirements under a collective bargaining agreement. Employers cannot require their employees who have accrued both paid and unpaid sick leave time to exhaust unpaid sick leave time prior to being entitled to use paid sick leave time.
Employers who already provide leave on term at least as generous a those required by law do not have to provide additional leave. The ordinance doesn't apply to employees covered by collective bargaining agreements, until such agreements expire.
Bloomfield, East Orange, Elizabeth, Irvington, Montclair, Morristown, Newark, New Brunswick, Passaic, Paterson, Plainfield and Trenton - Employees in businesses with 10 or more employees can earn up one hour of paid sick leave for each 30 hours worked, with a maximum to five paid sick days (forty hours) per calendar year. Employees of smaller businesses can earn up to three paid sick days (24 hours) per calendar year, except for employees who are child care workers, home health care workers and food service workers, they earn up to five paid sick days (40 hours).
Note: New Brunswick has no coverage if you work in a business with less than five full time employees.
The below sick leave rulings apply to all NJ cities:
Who is eligible?
Eligible are employees in all cities working full-time, part-time or temporary for at least 80 hours per city per calendar year. It doesn't apply to workers employed by governmental entities.
What if my boss provides paid sick leave?
Employers who already provide leave on terms at least as generous a those required by law do not have to provide additional leave.
When do I start accruing sick leave?
Employees begin accruing sick leave when start working, but an employer isn't obligated to give sick leave until the employee is working on the 90th day of the job.
Exception: If you are covered by a collective bargaining agreement that is in effect, you begin to accrue paid sick time under the local law beginning on the date that the agreement ends.
Can I carry over sick leave?
Employees can carry over unused sick leave, but an employer isn't forced to give more than five days annually.
Employers are not required to reimburse employees for unused sick leave.
How can I use the sick leave?
The sick leave can be used for own illness or medical treatment, as well as for that of a family member (spouse, (grand)children, (grand)parents).
When goes/went the ordinance into effect?
Bloomfield: July 1, 2015
East Orange: January 6, 2015
Elizabeth: March 2, 2016
Irvington: January 7, 2015
Jersey City: January 24, 2014
Montclair: March 4, 2015
Morristown: October 4, 2016
Newark: May 29, 2014
New Brunswick: January 6, 2016
Passaic January 1, 2015
Paterson: January 7, 2015
Plainfield: July 15, 2016
Trenton: March 4, 2015
Read more in the original ordinances:
East Orange Paid Sick Time for Private Employees
Jersey City Earned Sick Leave Ordinance
Montclair Earned Sick Leave Ordinance
Newark Paid Sick Leave Ordinance
Ordinance of Passaic Earned Sick Leave Ordinance