Coverage California Family Rights Act (CFRA)
Employers who do business in California and employ 50 or more part-time or full-time workers.
- you have to be more than 12 months in service with an employer and have worked at least 1250 hours for that employer in the 12 month period before the leave begins.
- if you are eligible you may take unpaid leave to
a. bond with a newborn or an adopted foster child.
b. care for a parent, spouse or child with a serious health condition
c. care for your own serous health condition
- full-time employees may take leave up to 12 work weeks in a 12 month period, part-time employees may take leave on a proportional basis.
- the leave does not have to be taken in one time
- your employer may require a 30 days notice unless unforeseeable circumstances. In that case, notice should be given as soon is possible.
- your employer may require written statements from the health care provider stating the reason of the leave and the probable duration of the condition
- you are entitled to CFRA leave in addition to any leave entitlement you might have under PDL.
- Bonding leave must be completed within one year of the birth or adoption of the child.
Salary and Benefits
Employers are not required to pay you during CFRA leave. You may be required to use accrued paid leave other than sick time. If the CFRA leave is for your own serious health condition the use of sick time can be required.
After CFRA leave you are guaranteed to return to your same or comparable position.
Source and more info:
The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) provides workers job-protection and unpaid leave for specified family and medical reasons.
Federal Employees can use sick leave for family care and bereavement; annual up to 12 weeks (480 hours) for a family member with a serious health condition.
Connecticut Service Workers can take paid sick leave to take care for sick family.
Rulings in several US cities provide paid sick leave for employees to take care for sick family.